Used 1998 Chevrolet Tahoe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,473 - $3,112

Used Tahoe for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

12 years, 157,000 miles, 1 owner

FC, 07/31/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The title speaks for itself. I'm the original owner of this truck. Bought it back in '98 with 11 miles on it. It now is pushing 160,000 and shows no signs of slowing down. I plan on keeping this truck until the wheels fall off. Every time I think of selling or trading it in for something with better mileage, it proves its usefulness, whether it be hauling a load of furniture, pulling a stump in the backyard, towing a trailer, or it snows! I could go on and on about the virtues of my Tahoe. Its taken me across the country many times, and still goes to the grocery store and work every day. Finally starting to show a little rust on the rockers, but that's to be expected.

Report Abuse

1998 Chevrolet Tahoe Review

John Wagner, 07/24/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This truck is a brilliant package. Towing is bliss with the power of the Vortec 350. The interior is well designed, everything is right where it should be. I have 81,500 miles on my truck and there isn't a squeek or rattle to be found. The 4WD autotrac works flawlessly in low traction situations. The transmission performs wonderful...smooth shifts, with or without towing. I have yet to find something I do not like about this truck! I recently made a 1,500 mile trip and the truck averaged 21 mpg on the highway doing 75 mph. I am not complaining with all of the available power and torque on tap. JOB WELL DONE CHEVROLET!

Report Abuse

Tahoe Strong

Steve-O, 10/03/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I really enjoy my Tahoe. I purchased it because I need a 4wd vehicle to get me to and from the fire station during snowstorms. I have been impressed so far. Besides the gas mileage, I'm very happy with it so far. It has over 120,000 miles on it and I feel comfortable driving it across country. Although I am a light foot when I drive on the highway, I still only average 17. That said, I love it and I bought it knowing what kind of milage a 5.7 v8 gets.

Report Abuse

Solid as a rock

pman, 07/18/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new in 1998. I currently have 115K miles. It will go just about anywhere, and it has. From the sand dunes in Baja, river gorges in the Anza Borrego desert, winter storms in Big Bear, it just goes, and in comfort. Repairs: Around 60K miles exhaust manifold gaskets, Cat, fuel injectors clogged. (ARCO may be a bit cheaper but it clogged my injectors in first 50-60K miles, while last 60-70K miles I've used better gas, no problems, still going strong). About 100K miles, fuel pump, wiper motor. Just had first A/C service, still on original shocks. First major tuneup at 90K miles! No change in drivability since new, hold up well to dogs, kids, idiots in parking lots, etc.

Report Abuse

So far so good

ehsande, 08/21/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1998 Tahoe in 2006 with 99,000 miles on it. I think the GM/Chevys of the 1990s are great looking vehicles and always wanted one. Being that I bought it with 99,000 miles, there were some repairs to be done at 100,000, one being the water pump. I recently had work done on the brakes. Gas mileage can actually be quite good. I'm a fairly "soft" driver, and have gotten nearly 23mpg hwy with cruise control. I was in Montana when I first bought it, and often got 16-17mpg "city", though that has plunged since moving to a big city with lots of wasted gas at intersections.

Report Abuse

Love it

Taylor, 04/23/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the truck in 2000 with 78000. This Tahoe is a rare one with the 6.5L diesel. Fuel mileage is great for this size truck (17 city, 20 Hwy), with a 3:43 rear, compared to a 1996 gas Tahoe I owned. The looks are great, and I still love this truck. I had a fuel injector replaced under warranty at 98,000, and other at 199,750. I now have 200,250 miles on the truck. besides general maintenance, I have had the alternator rebuilt, and replaced the window wiper motor. This truck has been so much fun at towing, and off road. I hope this truck last another 10 years.

Report Abuse

One owner Tahoe served us well!

supreme, 06/02/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new back in '98 and so far I've put almost 200,000 miles on it. I love it! I've owned many cars in my life and I haven't owned any of them for as long as my Tahoe has lasted (Ford, Pontiac, other Chevys, Dodge, and Buicks). The 350 V8 is bulletproof; the only problems have been with accessories (brakes, steering, electrical). It is horrible on gas but what do you expect for such a large vehicle? It's taken my family on many cross-country trips and performs without skipping a beat in the snow. My kids are all grown and moved out and I still can't let it go! I plan on driving this truck until it dies in my driveway. Buy one and you can count on many enjoyable miles!

Report Abuse

Surprise Surprise!

MarJan42, 05/02/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After towing a trailer of furniture from VA to NJ the transmission is shot! 2nd time towing a trailer and is very disappointed that it broke down without any indications in MD. Now I have to put out big bucks to have it replaced before I get it home to VA. This SUV has less than 82,000 miles on it and I have owned it for less than 3 months. Purchased it because it was suppose to be able to handle towing.

Report Abuse

quality machine

j.anderson, 08/04/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A very functional SUV. Never had any serious problems over 6 years. Very roomy interior and great interstate vehichle.

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

pirate90, 09/12/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent overall vehicle for family trips and outdoor events - Roomy, Powerfull and good fuel economy given its size. I have put 100k miles on it since purchase and just now starting to need some repoairs at 142K!

Report Abuse

Nice truck!!!!

Griffin, 03/14/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought our Tahoe when it was only 6 months old. We instantly fell in love with it. It now has 100,000 miles on it and we have no plans on getting rid of it! It plows through anything and is invaluable in the snow! We were thankful of our 5 year warranty, though. The master brake cylinder went out at about 80k, the U-joints went out twice, and all new brakes. It's ironic, though, because since the warranty expired, there has been no problems for a few years! It is the best there is for towing, off-road, and driving around town. Tahoes are hit or miss. You either get lucky with a very good one, like us, or you end up with a real lemon. Be careful, and good luck!

Report Abuse

Tahoe - What a great SUV

burt13, 08/18/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a 98 Tahoe which I bought in 99 with 22,000 miles. It now has 110,000 miles on it. I have had to have a few things done to it like have the brake master cylinder replaced, a new alternator and the lower gasket seal replaced. In addition the transmission slider bar snapped which needed replacing, strip down of transmission! Although I have had to replace these items over the last 6 years, the Tahoe has been great to drive, especially on our long haul trips to see family in other states. Nothing like the roominess this vehicle has. Iam getting ready to trade her in and will be sad to do so, but with the rising cost of gas these days and the currents offers now is a good time.

Report Abuse

best I have Owned

Roy, 12/03/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought new in 98 and love it. It has always turned heads. I bought the copper color and am glad. I have not seen any exactly like it in the 8 years that I have owned it. To date I have put on 2 alternators, one water pump, a lower ball joint, and the speed sensitive steering device and that's all. Wonderful SUV. Everybody tells me to not sell it, keep it. But one day I may. The paint still looks new and shiny. When we go somewhere someone always makes a comment on how good it looks. I love it.

Report Abuse

Been good to me

Steve, 12/13/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have enjoyed this vehicle so much I'm going to put new tires on it and go for another 50K miles at least. Wish the mileage was better but it gets me where I want to be on and off road. Put my son in the '96, wife drives a 2002. Would like to get a new vehicle, but can't decide which one to go for. Lots of room and comfortable.

Report Abuse

2 Door Tahoes are awesome

JW, 04/18/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love the size, the design, the features. The only negative I can see is the gas mileage is about 13-14 in town.

Report Abuse

Best in class

Chevy Chase, 09/19/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Having owned my 1998 Tahoe for ten years now, and continuously working it every day, I would have expectd it to break down around 100000 miles. Now I'm pushing 200,000, and the only thing that ever went wrong with it was a radiator leak at 193,000 miles. I'm still riding on the same shocks I did when I drove it out of the dealer ten years ago. The exterior has held up under the toughest conditions: from the Arizona desert heat to the humidity of Atlanta, Florida, and St. Louis. I have no reason to complain whatsoever.

Report Abuse

Fantastic Truck!

bo, 03/09/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck with 20000 miles on it, I have 72000 miles on it now.No problems to report. The 350 and towing package are a great combination.This is a fantastic truck!

Report Abuse

Next time I buy a Toyota

elkhornsun, 11/04/2011
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 1998 Tahoe coming off a lease with 28K miles. At 32K I found that the rotors needed to be replaced and that Chevrolet had put undersized rotors on its trucks up until 1998, and corrected the problem in 1998. Stopping distance is 50% greater than average for the Tahoe even with no passengers and no load and not pulling a trailer. I bought it to tow a trailer but with the terrible brakes I have avoided using it for this purpose. Can only use a proprietary CD player which costs 4x as much and mine broke within a year. In first 100k miles I had to replace the breaks twice, rotors once, manifold gasket, fuel injectors, AC compressor, idler, and the front tie rods.

Report Abuse

Tahoe, not all thats it's cracked up to

Fdatahoe, 05/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had the Tahoe for almost 2.5 years and have replace 3 gaskets (100bucks),all 4 shocks (200bucks), a water pump(300 bucks), the leather seat is ripping and the breaks twice. I sure am glad I bought a Chevy. Oh yeah I still have a intermitent vibration in the steering which they can not find, not bad for a 3 year old POS

Report Abuse

TAHOE -STABILITY

GUMMI BEAR, 05/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

ON ROUGH ROADS THE TAHOE IS HORRID. I SUSPECT THE DESIGN IS POOR AS ON ANY ROAD WHERE ONE FINDS ROUGH ROADS THE CAR LOOSES ITS ABILITY TO STEER PROPERLY. I HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING AND AM CONVINCED THAT THE TAHOE IS A BAD DESIGN.IT IS A SCARY THING TO DRIVE ON BAD ROADS

Report Abuse

High Cost of Ownership

Dissappointed, 06/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I previously had a Suburban - which was almost zero trouble. The 1998 Tahoe by comparison has cost me almost $4,000 in various repairs. Brakes, AC Compressor, water pump and cooling system, computer & electronics. All was out of warranty when it happened. If you purchase a 1998 Tahoe, invest in an extended warranty. It may be well worth your money.

Report Abuse

itsnotarock

itsnotaford, 06/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Breaks 3 times in 4 years 57000 miles. Speed sensitve steering slipping again 2 times. Leaking coolant at intake manifold. bolts not even tight. New waterpump at 48000. New alternator at 49000 miles. Air condition controls, compressor still runs when turned switch is in off position. Been replaced at 37000 miles. Was supposedly fixed 39000 miles doing same thing. Did not fix again, thank God i leave where it is hot 90% of the time. Evertime you get it fixed ther is something else. I have a 1994 ford f150, Knock on A BIG peace of wood. has but one thing and that was a transmission slip that a $150 fixed. CHEVY LIKE A ROCK! YEA RIGHT

Report Abuse

98 2dr Chevy tahoes are the best

matt williams, 06/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best car i have ever owned

Report Abuse

Built like a tank!

Kara, 08/10/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

On 7-31-2010, we were rear ended by a tour bus that was doing AT least 60 on the interstate, we weren't up to speed yet, the bus pushed us several feet, that truck and the good grace of God saved our lives! there were 5 of us in that truck including my son, I'm so thankful we were in it instead of my car! We loved that truck and will miss it. We are looking for another in as good of shape as it was, I'm thinking of trading my car for one!

Report Abuse

Over the top

blaster_md, 07/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this Tahoe used with 68K miles. I'm up to 78K, and haven't had truck for a year yet. I've only had to replace the water pump, due to a leaky shaft seal. The truck has been great! I'm 6'7", and don't fit many of the other trucks, as I guess they're designed for women...... Anyway, I don't have any problems with this truck, the mileage is great as long as you keep in mind this ain't no Honda Civic. I've ridden in Civics, I'm much happier in the Tahoe.

Report Abuse

Like A Rock...NOT

Frattelli, 08/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2 transmissions, #1 at 22K #2 at 34K, manifold gasket, brakes x 5, radiator, water pump x 2, tailight housings burned up, electric doors, continual AC problems, front end shimmys since day one, leather driver seat worn-out @ 20K miles, shocks, springs; it's hemoraging coolant as I type this. $5,000.00 out of pocket since 36K; now has 70K miles...do the math. This vehicle was $40K so, when I hear about lay-offs at GM or how the Japanese manufactuers are kicking our butts, I just shrug anymore. "Like a rock" my a$$ !

Report Abuse

Not too bad

earthwindandfire, 09/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2WD 4DR new, and still have it as of Sep, 2002. Take good care of it. Just replaced water and gas pump (inside the tank) plus oil and miscellaneous to the tune of $1400 at 66,000 miles. Ouch. Other than that, though, it's not too bad. No other major repairs. Fits everything, comfortable seats, lots of legroom for tall drivers (I'm 6'4"), pretty nice stereo. Driver seat leather does wear out, and gets shiny. Not too shabby a vehicle overall. Been driving a Lexes LX470 and a Toyota Land Cruiser, both of which make the Tahoe look pretty bad, I have to say.

Report Abuse

Private Party

joe bob, 11/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is so much fun to drive.

Report Abuse

Bought in 2010 & Still Going Strong!

ckingwevl, 12/20/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had an opportunity to purchase my 4dr LT in 2010 with only 65k miles on it. Today it has 85k on it and it's still going strong. The normal things are wearing out that I would expect to on a 15 year old truck, but I have not had to put in any major repairs thus far. The previous owner was a meticulous maintainer of the vehicle and I am continuing the trend. Comfort wise you can not beat it. Recently drove 11 hours to the Big Bend area of TX. Did mostly offroad rock and dirt roads while there and she was a beast. Towing is good, but upgraded shocks are recommended to distribute weight better. As for brute strength, I would take this tahoe over a new one any day!

Report Abuse

poor mechanical quality

tahoe, 10/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

two transmission failures (no reverse) which i am told is very common by dealer. no assistance by gm when only 36,800 miles (800 over warranty). now having abs problems @ 40,000 miles. also common accoring to dealer, but out of warranty. quoted $800.+ to repair. abs controller loses sensor signals at low speeds (3-8 mph) and causes system to engage dropping pedal to floor and losing hydraulic pressure. truck is then impossible to stop.

Report Abuse

Mechanical Horror

Rogeru, 09/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Reliability is terrible. With 80600 miles, I have replaced an alternator & battery, a fuel pump, water pump, have had a rear differential leak, and replaced a leaking oil intake. Mechanic now tells me the fuel pump is noisy and may need replacement (again) after just 12000 miles. Computer readout says there is transmission slippage. Can't wait to dump this piece of *&@#$!^.

Report Abuse

My Red Toy

MCox, 09/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Took little kids up skiing and left after a storm. Pulled out of my parking space and drove away while a Pathfinder and a 4-Runner were spinning their tires. I've dropped the backseat down and used it to move 14 kids around a field, moved a ton of landscaping stone and filled it to the ceiling with cedar fencing. We use it to haul our racecar and trailer and our boat.

Report Abuse

Love my Tahoe

Skylar, 01/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this SUV with 74,000 miles - I bought it very cheap compared to other Tahoes/Yukons I looked at. It now has 110,100 miles on it. I have had some problems with it, but my mechanic tells me that they are pretty uncommon problems - just my luck. He says it will go to 200,000 with no problem. He drives one like mine, too. But, even with the repairs that I have had to do - intake gasket, cracked drums and caliper problems with brakes, and leaking coolant system (not the radiator), I still love to drive it and like the way it looks.

Report Abuse

1998 Tahoe LT 4Dr 4wd

witterda, 01/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

On long trips, I can't get over how comfortable the seat is. I never get tired of driving...

Report Abuse

First Timers

Mark Cuccaro, 01/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drove this vehicle daily back and forth from worcester, ma to warwick, ri (52 miles one way). i estimate that on average i drive about 150 miles/day. it had been very reliable until i got up to the 120,000 mile marker where things started to get very expensive. as far as just "underhood" work goes, EVERYTHING from the head gaskets up i have replaced at least twice. blew the tranny and t-case at the same time around 145,000. but other then that, it was great

Report Abuse

Great Truck

fastben, 04/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck about three years ago. It has had a few minor problems, but nothing out of the ordinary. All cars have problems. If they didn't there would not be a service industry. Love the leather, great sound system, tons of power for a truck that heavy.

Report Abuse

Good Truck for the Buck...

SoonerDoc, 05/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it used approx. 6 months ago with 60000 mi on it. Purchased an extended warranty which by other accounts on these trucks was a good idea. Few minor problems; was leaking coolant (which warranty covered), also has a slip at low speeds in the steering (have not had this looked at yet), finally the exhaust manifold gaskets leak which causes a knock. All in all though, it has been a great truck. Has not let me down like my POS Ford did many times.

Report Abuse

Too little for too much!!!!!!!!!!

jwolff, 04/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought this vehicle about 6 months ago and have found out that I really don't like Tahoes! In the begining I loved it but the fact that is so large in size really distortes any acceleration it may have. I think that this vehicle is very comfortable but the styling is not for me. One month after I purchased this vehicle I had to have the tires replaced and the oil lines replaced. I also think that they sould change the placing of the cup-holder and the ash tray. Who the hell wants to reach over their passengers legs to put out a cigarette? Not Me! Right now half of the dash lights are out.

Report Abuse

old reliable

robert kennedy, 02/03/2019
LS 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Only second owner of vehicle. regular oil changes and 12 month safety inspections.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good vehicle !

Mike, 02/03/2020
LS 2dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

299k 1 trans.150k ,intake gasket but nothing major . Bought it new and warm it up good before I take off .

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050