Skip to main content

Used 2017 Chevrolet Sonic Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,499 - $18,998

Used Sonic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Blue Fire

C. D. Willoughby, 01/15/2018
updated 01/16/2019
2017 Chevrolet Sonic LS 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

The car I bought was a Chevy Sonic (four door Kinetic Blue Sedan) and it's so cool looking. I've gotten compliments on it already. It drives well and I love the bluetooth features. Plus it's great on gas.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Sonic Surprise!

kalli, 01/11/2020
2017 Chevrolet Sonic Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2017 Sonic Premium Turbo Sedan used with 46,000 miles on it. I have 66,000 miles on it now. The car is fun to drive, has a peppy motor as far as acceleration goes (that's the turbo). The seats are amazingly comfortable for a little car (i've owned pontiacs so this was nice). I owned an Acadia before I downgraded but didn't suffer in the convenience department with a premium. I have heated seats, heated steering wheel and plush seating. Husband and I have had SUVs before and this is our first "car" together and it is a cramped car for two grown adults. It is hard to grocery shop, even though it has ample trunk space it doesn't seem to fit a lot of stuff. The low profile tires are cheap and I had one bubble on me that was a factory tire. I also had to replace the water pump after mysteriously losing heat and the engine overheating (no temp gauge so I was freaking out about cracking an aluminum head). This is a problem with the Sonics as I researched. It is a rough ride due to the smaller diameter tires and rims. I've considered switching them out. Also, parking is great BUT almost everyone owns a SUV or a big truck where I'm from so you cannot see anything nor can they see me. It's like I'm an ant. There's a lot of road noise in the back seat area. I don't expect luxury from a car I paid $10k for. I am looking for another vehicle to better suit our needs at this point, but I would recommend it for a single person who commutes! Before you buy one, drive over a bumpy surface and also, remember the water pump. It cost about $300 incl. labor to replace. I love cars and I've owned a lot of them and drove a lot, husband was also a valet so he has driven lots of cars and was impressed by this lil car. And if you buy one make sure it has the Turbo, I test drove one without it and was like, just throw the car away. Thank you for reading, hope it helps you.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Catchy Title

Mack, 12/29/2017
2017 Chevrolet Sonic LS 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

Nice car for an "inexpensive" car. Would not want to drive it long distances on the expressway but is a reliable car;

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

A Proper Car at a Proper Price

F. Gallagher , 10/14/2019
2017 Chevrolet Sonic Premier 4dr Sedan (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

55K on my Sonic Premier and absolutely no issues at all. It has the 1.4 ltr turbo which has more power than most cars in this segment. The Apple/Google Car Play is nice on the big screen. I use Waze or Google Maps for Navigation. The Stereo is surprisingly good at this price. It feels solid in your hands at the wheel. The brakes after 55K still feel the same, very good. I bought it because my Dad asked me to give an American car made by American's a chance. I have not had any regrets.

Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Straight LEMON

I was sold a lemon, 07/25/2019
2017 Chevrolet Sonic LT 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 22 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2017 sonic in June 2017 and as of today July 2019 I've only had it 2 years first owner and I have been to back and forth to the dealer 4 times all less than 30 days or 20 days apart for the same problem engine light on and the car cuts off whenever I'm at a red light, stop sign or just sitting in traffic while in drive. It just went back to the dealer 07/3/2019 for the same issue and jerking while at a stop and they told me the diagnosis machine read no problem so they did nothing. Now it's 07/24/2019 and the freakin car has been jerking at every stop engine light back on and cut off on me and my baby st night while driving on the parkway. CHEVY SOLD ME A LEMON AND MY CAR HAS ON 14,668 MILES WITHIN THE 2 YEARS OF HAVING IT. ACTION IS GETTING READY TO BE TAKEN AGAINST THEM WITH THE LEMON LAW SUIT. I WILL NEVER INVEST IN ANYTHING CHEVYBIN MY LIFE AND I DON'T RECCOMEND ANYONE ELSE TO PURCHASE EITHER

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: