Skip to main content

2023 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
33 reviews

Pricing

Edmunds suggests you pay
$41,463
1...

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 Silverado 2500HD, so we've included reviews for other years of the Silverado 2500HD since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
    5 out of 5 stars

    Carhartt Edition 2500HD Duramax

    Chad K., 07/06/2021
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.6L 8cyl 6A)
    23 of 23 people found this review helpful

    I bought this truck as an upgrade from our 2018 Silverado High Country 1500. We purchased an RV last year and while the 2018 towed it just fine, especially with the 6.2 liter, this is just another level. The truck is nicer in almost everyway than the 2018. HUD is really handy when driving and the mirrors are really functional. The lighting is very good at night and with the mirror lights on it make backing up very easy. The Carhartt edition essentially made the LTZ into a High Country but without all the chrome. The interior is huge and comfortable. The ride is amazing and the all terrain tires work very well in all conditions. There are so many features that I would never be able to cover them all. The bed is really wide and the perfect height. The power up and down tailgate is very nice to have, especially for my wife. Cameras are everywhere and show you every thing. Seriously, if you hit anything, it's your fault. I did not expect to like this as much as I do. I was buying it for the capability but I love this truck. The ride is very nice and livable as a daily driver. This is also my first diesel and I'm blown away by the power and smoothness of the engine and transmission. It's silent and runs very good, with shifting being ultra smooth on the Allison. I'm really impressed with the interior as well. The charger fits the iPhone 12 max and so does the phone holder in the console top. There is a place for everything...except your sunglasses as this truck does not have the traditional sunglasses holder above the map lights. That's my only nitpick. Everything else is just right.

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    5 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    5 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse

    5 out of 5 stars

    Nicest truck I have had

    Andy, 02/18/2022
    2022 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.6L 8cyl 6A)
    17 of 19 people found this review helpful

    Got a 2022 in November 2021, it took forever after putting the deposit down on it. I have to sat definitely worth the wait. I traded in my 2019 Ram 1500 on this truck, and while the Ram was nice, it holds no comparison to this truck. The Chevy just feels better made then the Ram did, from the fit of the interior to the heft of the doors. Just a better made truck and honestly the price reflects that as they cost more. I have pulled a several loads, in the 8-10k lb range and you don't even know that they are back there. Would definitely recommend this truck.

    Safety
    5 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    3 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    4 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    5 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    4 out of 5 stars

    Great Ride

    Aclapper08, 11/29/2021
    2022 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.6L 8cyl 6A)
    14 of 17 people found this review helpful

    Picked up this truck last week and drove around the cities then drove the 1000 miles home. Truck looks awesome and I am sure is more then capable of hauling a load. Only downside I see so far is the fuel mileage is pretty horrible for an unloaded diesel truck. Averaged 14 mpg over the 1000 mile drive. I know its a heavy truck, but really hoping the engine just needs to break in further, my Ram did better mileage wise but definetly didn't ride as smooth or as quiet.

    Safety
    4 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    4 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    4 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    5 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    4 out of 5 stars
    Value
    5 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    Advertisement
    Build Your 2024 Silverado HD
    At a Glance:
    • 6 Colors
    • 2 Trims
    • 6 Packages
    • $85,065starting MSRP
    Build & PriceChevrolet.com
    *The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Chevrolet vehicles' destination freight charges. Dealer sets the final price.

    5 out of 5 stars

    Great truck

    bkreitl, 10/21/2022
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Custom 4dr Crew Cab SB (6.6L 8cyl 6A)
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

    I've been a Ford f250 for years, my 2017 f250 had the death wobble. After 6 months in and out of the dealership with no resolution. Bought the SIlverado 2500 2 years ago, 25k flawless driven miles. Great power towing my boat! Happy with MPG, 17 on the highway. I would do it all over again. Bye Ford!!

    Report Abuse

    1 out of 5 stars

    Buy something else Trans issue @ 30,000

    Chuck, 12/31/2022
    updated 07/03/2023
    2021 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD Custom 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (6.6L 8cyl 6A)
    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

    21 Chevy Silverado 2500hd. Only 30,000 miles on her and the transmission expired. Now it’s sitting at a deal that has no transmission tech and waiting for it to get towed to another dealer to make the necessary repairs. Stay away from Chevy trucks. Update oil burning issue. 6.6L gassers burns a lot of oil. 4,000 mile road trip pulling a 5th wheel camper burnt 8 quarts of oil. Definitely not a good look Chevy

    Safety
    3 out of 5 stars
    Technology
    2 out of 5 stars
    Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
    Interior
    3 out of 5 stars
    Comfort
    3 out of 5 stars
    Reliability
    1 out of 5 stars
    Value
    1 out of 5 stars
    Report Abuse
    1...
    Items per page:
    5