Used 2008 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$2,995 - $11,900

Used Impala for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Impala - American Pride At Its Finest.

stevenycer, 06/29/2010
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I've got 2 years and 36,000 miles in on my Impala LS and have had an overall positive experience with it. This car is strictly a cruiser with very soft handling and very smooth ride. This car is not for performance enthusiasts wishing for feeling the road as they drive. I'm particularly fond of the exterior styling in a mocha brown color and the tail lights are a nicer improvement over the previous design. There have been no mechanical issues with drivetrain, brakes, electric, or any engine issues. Aside from a few minor flaws, I would purchase this car again in a heartbeat. The Impala has proven to be an excellent value for the money, and fuel economy for a V6 is fantastic.

Report Abuse

Bad rear door locks

mes1944, 11/24/2011
LT 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
35 of 37 people found this review helpful

Rear door locks quit working at 32000 miles. I believe this to be a safety issue in that the rear seat passengers especially infants and young children may become trapped during an emergency. The driver will not be able to activate the rear door locks.

Report Abuse

NASCAR IMPALA

Nascar Impala, 03/16/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

While the few car magazine reviews of this car give it less than stellar reviews, this car is a great cruiser and can be driven as fast as a car needs to be driven! Passing is a blast. While some reviews call the suspension tuning "boat" like, I'd strongly disagree. I believe it handles very flat and also takes road bumps well. Very good mix. I have yet to cause the front end to push taking corners way to fast. The seats do limit your cornering as they have no side bolsters. Since most seat time is cruising, this is an acceptable trade off. Gas mileage is good also....except if you are using it for the V-8...which is why I bought it!

Report Abuse

Great Car. So far so good

chevalltheway, 10/10/2013
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Purchased used certified from a Chev dealer only 5 months ago with 135,000 km. Was in near perfect condition inside and out. Very fun to drive. Lots of power, no loss of oil or coolant leaks. Recently drove on a long trip and the car performed great! Tons of power through the mountains. Getting about 9.5 liters per 100K. Respectable. I replaced the factory audio system, because it sucked. Performed well but the audio was bad. Replaced with an aftermarket Pioneer deck and the system came to life. Now sounds ok with the factory 6 speaker system. I find better automatic shifting using "3rd" instead of "D" Not a 4 speed. 3 speed with overdrive.

Report Abuse

you'll look good driving down the road in this

Gail, 09/08/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

It is a really comfortable ride, especially for people with bad backs, easy to get in and out of. LOTS of trunk storage, has a section of back seat that opens up to trunk for extra log stuff. Have had no problems with it, have owned it for 10 years. Easy access to radio and heat/A/C controls. Still going, like that energizer bunny.....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it/Hate it

AT, 04/22/2016
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

First I love this car! Great power, room, and space in the truck! I purchase my SS brand new and it now has 180k miles. My biggest complaint seem to be OEM Parts. I have replaced the Wheel Bearing three times, Repairman told me there is a problem with GM on these, the original set last for 130k miles the second less than 3k. The new set is not OEM and came with a three year warranty. I have had to replace the accelerator senor (twice) and the door actuators (once). Any more replacement will not be OEM, I've learned my lesson. Even with these issues I love this car. Please do not pull along the side and think you can beat me, you may lose your "pick slip", She a BEAST!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I was involved in a accident that was not my fault, 25 days after I purchased my vehicle

mlwoolum, 02/06/2012
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
20 of 23 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2008 chevy impala, I bought the vehicle on December 20, 2011 and on Jan 14 2012 a guy ran a stop sign and I couldn't stop and I t-boned his truck. My son was in the car. We walked away from the accident, the only thing that happened to me was that the dash hit my knee and it is a little banged up. We were traveling at 55 mph when the other vehicle pulled out in front of us. The other guy didn't walk away he was in critical condition, he was taken to the hospital. For the impact that my car took, and we didn't get hurt. I HIGHLY recommend a impala to anyone. Look at the review's, i have since then purchased another impala, this is probably the only car I will ever purchase.

Report Abuse

great all-around sedan

mace57, 01/17/2011
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my Impala as a work vehicle. It has since become the all-around family work horse. Not bad looking with the spoiler, and sun roof. OK stero system. The car has a great balance of weight and power, and is super in the winter with good snow tires. we get about 24 mpg average. Lots of room and a hugh trunk. I have about 77k miles on it, and have had no repair issues. I think it is a great value, reliable sedan.

Report Abuse

Used buy value

stirfry1, 01/01/2014
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought the car one year old, now have 95,000 on it with no significant issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not Perfect But I Love It Anyway

Andrew O., 01/16/2017
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Strange transmission problem- when starting up, occasionally car moves ahead slowly the drops into gear with a bang and lunges forward. Feels like have been rear ended. Great engine! Exhaust sounds good- lots of power- excellent acceleration. Door speakers cheap- tinny- failed and were replaced. Terrible blind spots from drivers seat due to very wide A pillars- dangerous! Stabilotrac very finicky- frequent messages that is not working but then seems to correct itself. Frequent evap. emissions message and sometimes have trouble getting inspection sticker but no one can find the problem. Occasional dash message that one or two TPM's are not working, but then day or two later all is well again. Two electric door locks stopped working a long time ago. In spite of all this, I get a kick out of driving this car because it has a great engine. Rest of car I would describe as fair. This is the last year of the Impala V-8's so the car commands a premium price when selling or trading, they still sell for $2000 more than the 6 cyl. models. Yes, there are still some of us out here who love our V-8's.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No more

No more, 09/22/2010
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

We bought this car because we wanted a sporty family sedan. The car looks great in the red with the large wheels but that's really the only upside. We've owned over 30 vehicles over the years and this has to be the worst. Problems started right away. Door locks stopped working, the CD player stopped working, the ABS/ traction control has had problems 2 different times. Of course now that everything is fixed it has a pretty substantial coolant leak. Maybe we got a lemon, but this car is truly a disappointment. I think we're done with GM. Our 06 fusion has been perfect through 80k miles and this car has serious problems with only 40K miles on it.

Report Abuse

Regret buying this car!!!

alsaims123, 02/19/2015
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
14 of 18 people found this review helpful

Bought my impala used from carmax. Bought it with 29k on it in 2011 since buying it i have had to replace transmission with 42k then front and rear head gaskets before the 50k manufacturer warranty was up. Since then used the carmax warranty to get the rear window defrost wiring replaced. The warranty's are all up, scared to see what is next. Granted i feel lucky compared to some of the issues people have had to done to their impala. Still have issues with the cd player, driver seat doesn't go up and down like it should. Won't buy another chevy car again.

Report Abuse

Getting my moneys worth.

brad1992, 02/02/2013
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2008 impala LT 3.5 VVT in the cold Michigan winter of 2011 with 47000 Miles. The day after I bought it we had a 12 inch snow fall , thus making it near impossible to drive. However, at the time I was a Corrections Officer so it was imperitive that I make it to work. So I bundled up and braved the cold and, icy roads. This car was excellent on my commute. It never gave me any issues other than the traction control limiting the ammount of power I could supply to the wheels. I am proud to say I now have 80000 miles on this automobile and other than replacing the gas cap, battery and, two tires I have not had to do anything to it. I would def. purchase this car all over again.

Report Abuse

Reliably Rapid

Dave, 12/10/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My car was a rental for its first 20k miles. After 1 year and 17k more miles, all I've done is keep the oil changed. The cylinder deactivation gives highway economy of 27mpg with the cruise set on 70. It drops to about 17 in town. A friend with a Bentley Arnage commented on how nice the interior is! All that and outstanding acceleration to boot. The look of despair and surprise on a Honda "tuner" face in the rearview when the light turns green is priceless :) This car is a keeper.

Report Abuse

Head gasket problem?

LD, 11/13/2010
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Bought one owner 56 K miles one owner, Rides drives great. Power 3500 V6 is well matched to car.MPG great in town 20's highway 29 and up. Runs quietly handles well tire wear good so far.Long trips do well. Over all like very well.Past car 3800 V6 Olds little more power.Should used it not the 3500 V6.Its a proven engine,Now 58K miles head gasket seems to be seeping antifreeze. does this problem have a history ? May need a new head & gasket !And rear elec door activator needs replaced already.$300 WOW $$ Hope have not got a bad car I do like it well.Had hoped it would be last car I needed i'm 72 years old now.Thinking should run over 120 K miles for me . I pray it will.

Report Abuse

Bought with 11k Now close to 100k no issues

michaelvanity, 03/19/2014
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Only thing ive had to do to this car within the past 90k miles are oil changes every 6 months, I make sure to use the highest octane gas, And I only stick with one gas station, Shell being my choice. I have not had one probem thank God. And I plan on buying a new 2014 Impala, Love the new design. So heres how it add up. Me driving in San Francisco, I live here. Taking frequent trips to sacramento and reno. Lots of city driving. Things ive had done in terms of matience Oil Changes - Every 6 Months Reguardless of what meter says Best gas you can buy - IE most expensive tires changed twice. Brakes changed once. No Major Issues. Im going to stick with my Chevys.

Report Abuse

Extended Warranty Needed

debrajmsmith, 05/20/2014
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
12 of 16 people found this review helpful

We have had a lot go wrong with this car (after the warranty went off), and we are still paying car payments to the bank. Besides expected things, like brakes and tires, the following things have gone wrong on this car so far: --1) emissions vent solenoid, 2) rear defogger, 3) front wheel barrings (both), 4) window washer pump, 5) air conditioning air-vent actuator, 6) key-less door lock units (all four) It is hard to feel comfortable driving a car that can have something go wrong so often, as well as hard to find any fun in it.

Report Abuse

Love this car

A Cossick, 06/06/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
11 of 15 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 2 yrs, put 24k on it so far. Love this car, the power, torque steer. Averaging 21.7 mpg on 15 mile ea way commute to work and all my other driving, including some passes on the 1/4 mile. I think this is excellent for a 300 HP full size car. It corners and stops pretty good, though it has quite a bit of understeer when you push it to the limit - overall not bad for a full size car. Also needs to side support in the seats like the Grand Prix GXP has - these seats are too bench like. The drive by wire has some limitations as it will cut the throttle at times when I don't want it to - sharp movements that it thinks the car is out of control. I plan to own 10 yrs+

Report Abuse

08’ Impala- Yr of the death trap-injury, defects.

ResearchGuru, 07/07/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 12 people found this review helpful

Well this is one of a very select few cars that has all the highly publicized dangerous, expensive recalls, defects and just plain issues that were fixed with others but left in the 2008 because “they’re not enough deaths from the defects in this YEAR” mind you the same problems apply, same part failures killed so many that millions of recalls were sent through... The notes on issues for the Death Trap Impala... All bad parts that were not recalled on 2008 Impala that are the same defects and parts recalled from all other males and models. Late year 2007-shift into 08 can be included as well as late year 2008-into 09. Front lower control arm suspension defects driver and passenger side-snaps causing loss of vehicle control extensive damage,possible injury or fatality.Older control arms have 3 holes placed across center, new control arm was changed to only have one center hole. Rear axle spindle rod and bearing driver and passenger side not supporting/staying aligned causeing rapid tire wear,less stable stopping, turning etc. potential to blow tires causing accidents. ALL suspension issues were ONLY recalled in police vehicles with the excuse that police accessory packages caused extra strain- that is not true ALL Impala models in these yrs have the same defective parts and upon reviewing accessory placement it was no where near changing or interrupting these suspension part defects. GM just wanted to limit how many they had to repair on their dime. Airbags and safety restraint system as well as seatbelt restraint system defects- Besides that the 2008 Impala uses the SAME TAKATA AIRBAG AND SEATBELT SYSTEM THAT IS DEFECTIVE AND RECALLED IN ALL BUT A FEW YRS LIKE THE 2008! GM states that it hasn’t caused enough fatalities but if you look at all i formation documented even just on the NHTSA sites it causes and has caused a number of very serious injuries and add this to a defective suspension system that does not hold up to impact- can’t handle any impact, seatbelts don’t lock and airbags fail to deploy. The injury’s sustained are life altering serious 4 week plus hospital and intensive care stay bad. 6 alone in June 2018. airbag issues/defects/recalls in all but 2008 defective airbag OCS algorithm (entire electrical computer system) defective frontal sensors, control modules. Damage to seat sensor (weight safety sensors, way to sense passenger airbag need) wiring as front seat frames/placement seat adjustment/movement may damage Presence sensor wires and module. Defective airbag inflator causing inflator tube pieces to cause injury to person when airbag partially deploys shredding sections and prevents proper bag inflation. All defective seatbelt issues also prevent airbag system communication and deployment so again, seatbelt safety features being defective, not holding you back then having a failed airbag has resulted in severe injury and death. Seatbelts have been threaded incorrectly and not attached properly causeing the automatic tensioning cable in belt retractor to break. Front belts not secured properly to anchor pretensioner mounts causeing them to pull away on impact. All preventing safety belt to lock to keep person from dash or other impact, also without the ‘locking’ safety mechanism triggered airbags do not deploy. Belts, clips etc also are not ‘latching’ clipping together properly when buckled do to defects causing the system to think no one is there for safety measures in the vehicle to activate. Many failures are associated with B-pillar clips as well as retractors (parts of safety belt assembly) being broken easily due to never being secured properly or screws not being long wide or plentiful enough to hold these important mechanisms in place. You have points of impact externally around the vehicle to activate car safety systems, however the internal components and modules internally are key to have a fully functioning safety system. seat sensors also keep them off when deadly for shorter or lighter people, children or when the seat is empty. Or turn them on when a passenger is seated. Of seat tensioners fail break or not even close to a proper position inticating your presence airbags may not deploy causing full impact to dash, windshield etc etc , if they do deploy they may kill you as you are not restrained at all. But from research the trend is if your seatbelt restraint system is defective at all expect to not be protected by anything other then the shell of your car. THESE ISSUES SHOULD BE ADDRESSED IN EVERY MAKE/MODEL/YEAR That used defective parts. they’re thousands of reports all over the internet. For way more issues then these that are defects.Why are some not being fixed? Because complaints aren’t always going to Chevy/GM or sent to NHTSA,documented in police reports or looked over by mechanics for causes and failures because the Magnitude of events overpowers your memory of airbag and seatbelt failure,damage/injury sustained from suspension support failures

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fast speed, faster break downs

Mixed Emotions, 02/03/2010
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Bought used with 34000 miles, lots of wheel spin, 21mpg mixed 27 highway. can keep up with newer mustang gt's and eat up 5.7 hemi chargers, BUT 4 fuel injectors replaced, bad onstar unit and a paranoia when driving more than 100 miles at a time. every time I've been on a road trip a fuel injector goes bad. i should have learned my lesson after my 05 cts's water pump and transmission went out at 4 yrs and 33000 miles on the clock. no wonder GM went bankrupt so so so much fun to drive...until it breaks down. dealership would blame a flat tire with a nail in it on "unknown causes with no sure fix"

Report Abuse

Stay away from this vehicle

Jason, 10/24/2015
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

A nice looking vehicle, very comfortable, lots of storage space, rear seats will not fold down all the way making that feature almost useless. Spent over $5,000 in repair work, Including transmission work, before the car had 60 thousand miles on it. I am extremely disappointed with this vehicle having now dumped over $23,000 in a car that I bought used with 17000 miles on it. I shudder to think what is next. Two other GM vehicles in the past had their motors go bad not due to anything I did. Will not be buying another GM vehicle.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Worst car i have ever owned

Andrew, 09/06/2017
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

These cars are very cheap but that is for a good reason. They are horrible unreliable cars made with cheap throw away parts. My car had 65000 miles when i bought it in early 2017. Since then i have replaced the starter power steering line (which still leaks) it has multiple oil leaks the transmission is slow to shift and when it does it kicks into the next gear. Motor mounts are made of glass everyone has to be replaced. Do not be fooled by the cheap prices these cars have on the lot. They're cheap for a reason

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Run don't walk

dennis139, 01/22/2014
LT 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

We purchased this car with 50K on it. We now have 80K. Trans jumps from starts, both right side door lock stopped working, rear window connector burned, now head gaskets leaking, and trans lines leaking. Total cost of repairs is 4000.00 dollars. Car in only worth about 8K. Paint finish is poor, Would not purchase another GM vehicle.

Report Abuse

Don't buy this car!

Jeff, 02/27/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Spend the extra money and buy something of better quality. Chevrolet has outdone themselves with this cheaply made car. I have owned this car for eight years and I bought it with about 30k miles on it. In the time I have owned it I have had every door lock fail, the heat door actuators stripped their gears and caused a loud knocking sound coming from the dash(I've replaced three so far). The electronic accelerator sensor has gone out. The transmission is going out right now. Many many oil leaks from various gaskets failing on the engine itself. I can easily say this car has cost me at least $10,000 in repair costs so far.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good looking car

puffrooster, 05/17/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Originally I set out to buy an loaded LTZ with a bench seat, BOSE sound system and sunroof in mocha brown. But after taking the SS model for a spin, just to see what it could do, I was sold. Before purchasing this car I did test drive other sport sedans, all of them costing much more $$, and nothing was funner to drive than the Impala SS! The Jewel (dark cherry) monochromatic, red compliments the car and is worth the extra cost. I added low profile tires & wheels and tinted the windows all around. It's a good looking car and inexpensive to decorate.

Report Abuse

Awesome Car

JS, 09/22/2010
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a great car to drive recently bought this car. It is very fun to drive and I have ad nothing but great times in this car. I took this car from Philadelphia to New York City with some friends( 104 miles) and we started on a full tank of gas and using cruise control we got to New York City with approximately 3/4 of a tank left so its great on gas. There have been no problems at all with this beautiful car. Remote start works well and truck space is awesome. There is a safety precaution when there is severe wet weather it sounds like a a loud muffler but it protects the car from flooding the undercarriage

Report Abuse

mixed feelings

ifyousayso, 04/09/2013
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought the car certified used with 28,000 miles 2 mos after warped rotors. dealership w/ plenty of "warranty" says rotors aren't covered (bumper to bumper??). After market rotors hadn't come out yet so I had them turned. 1500 miles later warped again. I also noticed uneven tire wear. Took it in to have alignment checked dealer told me it was to GM spec. Took it to a local tire shop which informed me GM spec (at that time) was very broad. ie. Properly aligned didn't mean it was optimized for tire life. I had them align and put on a set of tires. 65000 miles later no uneven wear. clear coat started peeling from spoiler 2000 miles after warranty on paint was up. see Fav Features.

Report Abuse

Smooth Ride

Arthur, 05/04/2007
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

When loaded with leather, heated seats, retractable sun roof and a fine sound system this vehicle is nearly as good as the Hyundai Acera. The car cruises on the highway extremely well. It does not have the pep I would like but it does the job especially when fueled with E-85. This flex fuel vehicle gets a big lift from the higher octaine gasoline that helps solve the sluggish pickup problem. I found the vehicle not as comfy as my Cadillac Deville but it was nearly as nice. The price of this vehicle is right. The 28k I saved made me feel a heck of alot better in giving up my Cadillac for the 31 mpg I now get on the freeway. Good value, good on gas and nice looking to boot.

Report Abuse

Run, run, run....away from buying this car.

Debi, 10/22/2015
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 14 people found this review helpful

Our 2008 Impala has less than 80,000 miles on it, for a seven year old car that is low mileage........right now it's undergoing almost $3,000 of repairs. Our mechanic said that he's never seen a vehicle with so few miles have such problems. And of course, one of the problems seems to be another infamous GM defect........an anti-freeze leak. I Googled it and there are A LOT of complaints about that problem. Also has severe paint "crazing" on the black trim/paint by the windows. Started very shortly after purchase. I complained to GM, was told that "it's not a safety issue" so basically they were saying "tough &%*$". Won't EVER buy another GM. 10/23/17 I got an email to update my review......well, here goes. This Chevrolet Impala has been a nightmare. The worst car I've ever owned. Most recently there was a horrible squeal/scream, finally took it to a friend's shop, he found the problem. But, prior to that I spoke with GM (totally useless) and the dealership's mechanics (also totally useless). The dealership mechanic asked me to call them back to tell them what our mechanic finally found......well, heck no, they didn't help me.......I'm not about to help them!!! In spring of 2018 we will be buying a new vehicle, IT WILL NOT BE A CHEVROLET!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

24,000 Miles later

Anthony, 08/10/2008
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had the car for 10 months now and have 24k on it. So far oil changes only and rotating the tires. This car is the most underated car out there! For all the torque steer issues all you have to do is turn off the traction control and the car tracks straight! The traction control applies the brakes on acceleration and pulls the car all over the place. Fuel mileage has been an avg of just shy of 20mpg and I just got under 25 on a recent highway run to Va. Sure you can knock a couple of things on the cheapness of certain things but turn the key and listen to the American muscle! It compensates for everything else! For the money it is still a great value and I get tons of compliments on its looks!

Report Abuse

Looking Good!

Bill B, 01/26/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought vehicle 11/08. Was a rental car so a few nicks in the body but in great shape. Great car, good gas mileage. Averaged about 24 mpg on only long distance trip I have taken so far. Great comfort and XM radio is a great bargain. Haven't listened to AM-FM radio yet. Smooth ride. Heated seats are a big plus. Fantastic pick up and it turns a lot of heads with I drive in to the store or church. V8 sounds tough and kicks it when you step on the gas! Couldn't be happier with the purchase. Chevy hit a homer with this one.

Report Abuse

More good than bad

Don W, 12/18/2009
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've owned this vehicle for 20 months and 30000 miles. No tire replacement yet, maybe 6000 miles more on them. I love the performance. I owned a Malibu before this Impala. I just feel the Impala is more stable, especially when needing a fast acceleration, or a quick braking. The extra-loud cabin noises (engine Whine and outside wind) are irritating.

Report Abuse

AC/Heater

Laura, 06/17/2010
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2008 impala over a year ago and am pretty happy with it. The only thing that i dislike about the car is that the heater doesn't throw heat continuously when the car is in park. Bad situation if you ever get stranded on the side of the road in the middle of winter. I also noticed that the car has a really bad blind spot in between the area where the windshield and the drivers side door meet. The lighting inside the car is also pretty bad.

Report Abuse

Believe or not, the best

GM Lover, 02/13/2008
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've heard from so many people that American made automobile is not good as Japaness made. That might be true. It may sound strange. My teenage daughter wanted to buy this Impala SS, not Japaness or other imports. She said "I love Chevy". Driven about 7000 miles so far, and there was no problem at all. Excellent performance(like my Trailblazer SS). Great gas mileage for V8 engine(over 21 mpg with mixed driving). Very comfy and smooth ride. This Impala's interior may lack refinement than some foreign car's. But can they bring a car with roaring V8 under $30,000?

Report Abuse

Fun and Sporty Car

Brian, 11/17/2007
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Every morning I go out to my car to begin the day's journey to work, a situation that will put a frown on most people's faces. But as I walk up I hit the remote starter and hear the deep throaty roar of the V8, and I can't help but think, this is what Chevy meant by "The Heartbeat of America!" Needless to say, Every morning I drive to work with a smile on my face. This car has amazing power and very crisp handling living up very well to the Super-Sport lineage. The exterior and interior are both clean and sporty, and look distinctive from anything else on the market. In short, on paper this car was exactly what I wanted, in practice, this car is exactly what I wanted!

Report Abuse

It's not a Corvette, but

Jim, 04/15/2008
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've driven the SS for 4 months now and I'm actually impressed. Being a Corvette owner as well, not many cars excite me. The Impala is actually not a total bore to drive. The shifts are crisp and at the right rpm. Actually encourages you to show some muscle to 80%+ cars on the road that this vehicle will blow away. When it comes to hauling children or family this is the car. Something you cannot do in a Corvette. The only thing that worries me a little bit is the active fuel management which shuts down to a 4cyl when all 8 aren't needed. Can't get Cadillacs 8-6-4 out of my head

Report Abuse

Sporty and comfortable.

Matt Cirafice, 08/25/2018
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've been generally pleased but I have had to put a lot of work into. I am a real estate agent so I rely on my vehicle. One summer was so hot that one of the plastic cooling fans warped and caught on the radiator puncturing it. I had the radiator replaced. The people that did it seemed to have done sloppy work because the hood latch punctured the condenser at that time. By the time I figured out what had happened, I could not prove it was the mechanics fault and replaced a/c components is $2200. (You have to remove the front bumper to get the condenser out and is about 9 hours of labor involved). I've also gone through a starter, an alternator, multiple batteries, brake pads and rotors, and tires although most of those repairs are normal wear and tear. With a 5.3 liter engine and a 6 quart oil capacity, oil changes are expensive (especially since I use full synthetic). Lastly, cabin noise seems unusually high with lots of little creaks, squeaks, and engine noise. I would have expected this to not be the case.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2008 SS - Worst car I’ve ever owned

FedUp, 03/06/2020
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

First of all, the engine is gigantic so you can’t reach even the spark plugs hardly without pulling it out. Next, there are sensors in each wheel hub assembly that go out all the time, but you can just buy and replace the sensors - you have to replace the entire wheel assembly bc the sensors are built in. The transmission has very commonly faulty pressure control solenoids. My final straw and reason for writing this is that after fixing 5 previous issues (mostly electrical), now my AFM lifter has collapsed and I can’t replace it myself since the engine is in the vehicle sideways. It will cost me $4k to fix, at which point I may as well just get a new engine. I am choosing to trade in this piece of garbage. Other issues: failure to start because of a fuel pump electrical short in the passenger kick compartment harness clip; erratic shifting; inconsistent engine shake; failing wheel speed sensor which disables Traction Control, ABS, and StabiliTrak; ECM failure; EVAP canister control circuit codes. ALL WITHIN 5 MONTHS. Only 140k miles and the car is falling apart.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Did it’s job while she lasted!

Steph, 09/23/2020
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought in 2013 with 78,000 miles. 3.5L V6 with leather and sunroof. Had literally zero mechanical problems until about 120,000 miles, then of course a few normal things- bushings, a wheel bearing, some weird actuator thing in the wiper area that made a loud noise (replaces twice). Then about at around 140,000 power steering pump went but plenty of warning, then as time went on it needed some wires replaced that went from the shifter to the ignition, they were simply worn out and stopped connecting or whatever they do so they key wouldn’t come out of the ignition (thank you Lord it wasn’t the actual ignition I needed to replace). Then the windshield cracked on its own, twice. Just kind of bizarre stuff. Eventually she developed an oil pan gasket leak and a transpan gasket leak at around 150,000 ish. But I noticed nothing different with the performance and just kept an eye on the fluids every month. Keep in mind that I have a VERY HEAVY FOOT ON THE PEDAL. Last week I was going to work and driving about 45-50 and huge doe leaps out in front of the car from a ditch. I am very cognizant of deer while driving but this was unavoidable. It literally bounced off the front and flew up in the air and into someone’s driveway. Dead on the spot. I can honestly say that I really didn’t feel much. No airbags went off, but the car took it like a champ. I even limped her to work but had to have it towed to shop. Car ended up being totaled only due to the hood being pushed in so far that it killed the radiator and whatever else is right in front. Headlights, etc. Body shop said it was a shame the insurance totaled it because besides the front, rest of it was perfectly intact. I can honestly say I felt very, very safe in the car despite the mechanical and odd things like tire pressure sensors needing replaced multiple times- it actually never left me stranded once. Plenty of power to pass on the highway and huge trunk too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cry HAVOC.......

Nitehawk, 04/07/2009
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

.....and let loose the dogs of war. Purchased used, certified, 17k, still under warranty. Beautiful jewel tintcoat. Traded in my 06 Cobalt SS. Needed something a little roomier. I've never owned a 4 dr sedan, so was hesitant. Didn't want a dowdy land barge. Impala SS fits the bill. Dangerously fast and powerful. I'm lovin' it. Drive 200 miles round trip to work each week, and it's 50% city, 50% highway - 21.1 mpg.....not bad. But it's the Raw Power, it'll make you smile, and then some. Go test drive one, it's a life altering experience....go buy, now. You'll never look back.

Report Abuse

Another Chevy

Norma & Jim, 03/20/2010
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

We've owned quite a few Chevy cars over the years and some were better than others. We bought a 2005 Impala in 2006 and it`s been one of the best. Then we bought this 2008 Impala LTZ used. It is stylish, comfortable, quiet and just an all around nice car. It has 40000 mi but still drives and looks like new.

Report Abuse

Had Enough

KD, 11/11/2010
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

In the beginning, car was great, loved the remote start and leather heated seats. I have had to have a head gasket replaced, new water pump and two sensors. My issue now is it is using 1 1/2 qt of oil every 2000 miles and GM says that is ok. Not ok with me. Time to move on.

Report Abuse

2008 Impala LS

Dederic Crisp, 09/09/2015
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used abt 3.5 years ago. lock actuators had to be replaced. I know have 200000 miles on it and it's been a pretty reliable vehicle. I only wish GM would've gotten the kinks out of the motor and transmission.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

SS Fan

matt cirafice, 01/11/2017
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Why this was made to be a front wheel drive vehicle is baffling. I have enjoyed it but the gas mileage is poor and some of the designing is poor. The latch to the hood nudged a hole in my condensor somehow. Very expensive repair ($1200). The vent door actuators are chinese made garbage that constantly fail (there are 4 hidden in the dash) and when one fails it make a loud annoying clicking noise. On the plus side, if you need to pass someone, just press the gas a little bit, 8 cylinders jump into action. Great on road trips.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Car with many many problems

Jake, 01/16/2019
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Having now gone through two of these vehicles, I would advise anyone to avoid it at all costs. The problems with this car are substantial. Initially I spent 12k on an 08 Impala SS LS4 from the dealerhsip. Ran great at first and was very well taken care of. After about a year the car was plagued by coolant and oil leaks as well as transmission problems, which are very common. After repairs in the thousands, the cars problems persisted. Oil and coolant leaks are a big problem with this car. It simply doesn't seem like it was designed to stay cool and run properly. Eventually had to replace the engine because of all the cooling issues which led to a head gasket being blown. (keep in mind, I replace oil more frequently than is advised because of the issues with this car) With no other options I had to do it. This was VERY expensive. Now the car is giving me the EXACT same problems. I would advise anyone to avoid this nightmare of a vehicle. It is a comfy ride, has good space but the mechanical problems are simply too much to handle. You are much better off avoiding any year of the Impala. I only wish I had taken my friends advice before spending an arm and a leg.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Won't buy another GM vehicle.

md_jake, 01/29/2014
LS 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Car was my first new one in over 30 years. Bought new against my usual practice of buying used. This car has the worst blind spots of any vehicle I have ever driven, including my pickup truck with a bed cap on it. I have 73k on it now and have already had to replace all four rotors once, had the bottoms of the front doors and right rear fender in the shop for rust work (under warranty) and now my AC compressor is broken ... in the middle of January of all times. Also, my stereo has never worked properly and only plays music through the rear speakers 99% of the time.I think I will trade it in while it has the most trade-in value and try a foreign car or another Ford product.

Report Abuse

LOVE IT!!

Crystal Brown, 02/14/2016
SS 4dr Sedan (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

loan only not for keeps

chema, 04/23/2016
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

well i decided to test the car at dealer had a very good deal and the fact that i needed to loan to rebuilt my credit. what i like is the car is remote start great for winnter its fast and smooth ride ===== for long trips but seats are not comfortable enough. GAS! in city is poor im guessing 17mpg ? i just drove 125 miles and its already half tank yeah thats cause its a big engine with large trunk so i havent hit the high way much my saab with turbo 200 miles to half a tank in city or high way anyways i do like a car with lots of interior room trunk is large enough for luggages or groceries some like it for subwoofers radio not the best it has pioneer speakers? cant find that info anywhere...moving on you cant customize almost anything billet grills,headlights,tail lights,instrument cluster,rims. i do recommend the car to anyone

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Worst Car, Absolute Junk

rmk711, 04/08/2012
LT 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 13 people found this review helpful

This is absolutely the worst car I have ever owned, or known anybody to have ever owned, worst mistake of my car buying life letting myself be sold into buying this car. Everything on the car breaks! This car company is paid for in part by my tax dollars and at this point I feel like I have not only been ripped off by GM, but also by the American government. GM needs to take responsibility for its poor product designs whether part of the NEW GM or the OLD GM, recall these cars and give me a refund of absurd amount of money I have had to pay for a poor excuse of a way to get to work and pay my tax dollars to support this country.

Report Abuse

Actually, a decent sedan

Stavros, 11/15/2010
LTZ 4dr Sedan (3.9L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

own for 3 yrs. & have 116,000 km. I have to say, its not BMW 5 level ride & style, but I gave it good ratings cause, for what it is, it does well. it has plenty of power and reasonably responsive and hwy. power is great for passing anything. fit n finish is a bit cheap and lines not perfectly matched up...interior is not so stylish, but functional...front seats are not bucket enough, so they don't hold you on sharp turns, but very comfortable for everyday and long trips, rear seats, very comfortable (according to my passengers). for big car, actually handles pretty good (LTZ model)as engine got broken in, I get 10.5 L/100 km.AVG. Good Family Mover. Drives & feels solid on hwy. speeds.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050