Used 1997 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$7,487 - $16,538

Used Corvette for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1997 c5 corvette

woodyelect, 04/22/2002
2dr Coupe
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

One of the best cars I have ever driven for fun and performance. This car looks fast even when it is parked in the garage. The electronics are very complex in this car and I have had a problem with the heating and cooling controls.

Report Abuse

Fun car to drive, if the bugs die.

hand77, 12/14/2012
2dr Coupe
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I'll start by being fair, the mileage of my car was low, and I got an extremely good price from a friend. With that said, the car was awesome, most of the time. It was a blast to drive, got compliments everywhere I went (nassau blue color), and was just plain sexy to look at. But the rear end went bad, transmission needed replace, wiper motor never worked, driver side window motor went bad. Yes I did hot rod the car, but with it being a Corvette, you would thing it would hold up a tad better. To each their own, the car was a blast, but I won't own another C5 base car.

Report Abuse

Good for the money

BB's, 03/04/2004
2dr Coupe
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had many sports cars, Mustangs, Camaros, Firebirds etc... This Corvette is the best all around for the money. If you don't need the back seats then you get great looks, awesome power and crazy comments. And considering the rate of depreciation of all other american sports cars on the market the Corvette is the best bang for the buck.

Report Abuse

'97 Corvette

Ramjet319, 05/21/2003
2dr Coupe
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love the car, but disappointed that I have had to have it towed on three occasions: (1) locked steering column, (2) Broken serpintine belt bracket, (3) Broken serpintine belt.

Report Abuse

'97 Vette

Heyref13, 06/23/2005
2dr Coupe
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great driving fun! Good comfort in a sports car. Attention to detail is excellent. Truck space better than most passenger cars. It's hard on tires. Electronics need overall improvement and are expensive to repair. For the first model year of a completely redesigned car, it is Grandpa's dream come true! I would buy another Corvette in a heartbeat!

Report Abuse

Fast, fun, and great looking

hanky , 03/04/2006
2dr Coupe
4 of 11 people found this review helpful

All around this car is absolutely amazing. It is great for hobby drivers that want to cruise on the weekends or a everyday driver. The interior of the car is functional and very convient. The Bose sound system makes you feel like your at a concert. The power seats may be my favorite option in the car, it allows drivers all of sizes to sit comfortably. As you move to the exterior the car sits on beefy 19 inch rims that reflect like mirrors. The sleek angles and designs of the vehicle makes heads turn at every corner. Punching the accelerator leaves everything in the rear view. I recommend this car very highly, it's always been my dream car and has lived up to every expectation.

Report Abuse

1997 Corvette

Jgordon05, 10/05/2003
2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

One of the best sports cars out there for your money these days. Looks and drives awsome. Very comfortable seats. Nice acceleration and design.

Report Abuse

1997 c5 corvette

Sawyer, 08/06/2002
2dr Coupe
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great car Fun to drive

Report Abuse

Lifetime Corvette Owner, C5 is BEST Yet

jet pilot, 10/17/2002
2dr Coupe
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Nothing but positives about the car, Except that Chevrolet would not cover the glass top when the lamanet began to peal off. Dealership (Bob McDorman, Columbus Ohio) not honest or upfront when it came to financing. I will buy else where in the future. Anyone know of a dealer one can trust?

Report Abuse

FUN CAR TO DRIVE

GERALD PASLEY, 01/27/2004
2dr Coupe
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

AFTER 26000 MILES HANDBRAKE LEAVER IS THE ONLY PART TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS A 6 SPEED,WAS SUPPRISED THAT CAR GOT 34 MILES TO GALLON ON INTERSTATE TRAVEL AND 23 MILES TO GALLON AROUND HOME.

Report Abuse

Great over 30 weekend car

Jeff Holbrook LI, 04/10/2007
2dr Coupe
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have little to complain and a lot to praise about this car. It's a 6-speed. All the power, handling, and looks are better than any other car I've owened or driven. Rides like a Buick and gas mileage is better than my wife's '04 Accord. Love the car.

Report Abuse

Still the best performance bargain

Inaband, 08/11/2009
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This C5 is my 4th corvette, found on the net. Owned 5 years so far, no major problems, just oil changes, antifreeze and reg maintenance. 28 mpg highway w/ 6 speed. I drive it to club shows and functions, awesome car for the money.

Report Abuse

Cool, fun to drive

Zev, 07/19/2002
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

front chin spoiler is rough considering how low to the ground this baby rides.

Report Abuse

97 C5 Great Car excellent value

Harold, 02/04/2016
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent value, great sports car for the money.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050