Used 2002 Chevrolet Astro Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,790 - $4,611

Used Astro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

This is one great van! Bring it back!

Ron, 01/07/2009
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have owned four of the Astro series and one Safari van since '96. I've had only good experiences with them. Maybe I apprciate its comfort level, driveability and road feel because I don't expect this truck to drive like a luxury sedan. My Astros gave me better mileage than any pickups I've driven from time to time (including the big new Toyotas), yet with much bigger enclosed hauling space for my tools, lumber, etc., with the seats out. Then, when you need it, unlike a pickup, it's a great people mover too. And, as far as the styling goes, a nicely detailed 2002 Astro looks better than anything else out there. I'm keeping this one!

Report Abuse

Satisfied

Mike, 08/19/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Purchased vehicle as a rental return. I need AWD because I sell property in the mountains and occasionally go off road. Clients are always comfortable. Currently has 180K miles, mostly reliable, minimal repairs have been needed. Gas mileage in the mountains averages 13-14 MPG. 18-20 MPG on the road.

Report Abuse

2002 Astrovan

Jed Depew, 07/16/2006
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased an Astrovan due to its vast cargo capacity and some advice from a mechanic I know. While the engine and drive train has been good it seem likes everything else has a problem. Small things break on a regular basis and are a pain to repair. Door handles, door locks, rear seats, windshield, lights front and rear, etc.

Report Abuse

Astro Snow Mobile

D-Mac, 12/31/2015
LS AWD 3dr Minivan (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

bought the astro w 130,000 mi. 3yrs ago. 160know. Replaced a jeep cherokee with it and so happy with our choice. More cargo and smoother ride. Mine is not a soccer mom mobil. It's the Toy Box. And I have a long playlist. Take one seat out. still seat 5 comfortably. and put 5 bikes in the back. Or skis or snowboards... climbing gear... windsurf/kitesurf rigs... or a mixture of them all. In the winter move the seat to the back row and you have a nice space to put ski boots on or have lunch between snowkite sessions or sleep in it..rear heat works great. No need for a rocket box. but it has factory racks so easy to do if needed. Hook up a trailer and pull 4 dirt bikes or two snowmobiles no worries. Right now its winter and this van loves it. So stable on ice and snow. Good tires of course do help a lot. We ski little cottonwood cny and chase wind for snowkiting so often driving in blizzards. Its weight is well proportioned to its size and make it a smooth reliable snow mobile. The gears work awesome. Just put it in 1st or 2nd on steep snowy downhills and you barley need to use the brakes. I work on the great salt lake, if it's not stormy, and have to commute across a 15 mile dirt road which gets icy, horribly washboarded, and rutted this time of year. Set the cruz control at 45 and let the S-10 chassy do the work. although i have had to replace fuel pump and catalytic converter, normal stuff for its age, affordable parts and minimal labor made it no big deal. I recommend this van to all fun hogs... especially snow lovers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sad to see them go

Donn, 03/18/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our 4th Astro, obviously we like them. A-B'b the Caravan, Aerostar & Astro when we were in the market for a small van in 1985. Thought the Astro was the best choice then, still do now. Sorry they're no longer made

Report Abuse

Poor Stepchild to the Suburban

KVD, 12/10/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Got the LS AWD (with leather and every available option) for family trips. No aftermarked flip-down video made for the model. Owned vehicle 6 months and has been in the shop 7 times, once to re-attach the gas tank! Rattles like garbage truck and parts coming apart on the interior. Had a 93 Astro that we drove all over the US with no problems. Get the impression that all the attention goes into SUV design and production. This could be a great vehicle.

Report Abuse

Astro is a strong minivan

Mike, 04/08/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is our second Astro. The first one was destroyed in a side-impact collision by a drunk driver. The impact was so hard it flipped the van over onto it's roof and spun it around the intersection. No serious injuries to my wife and children, just small cuts from broken glass. Astro vans are built on a truck frame, and are durable, strong, and can almost drive like a pickup. It's been on many a campout with my son's scout troop. If you're thinking about buying a minivan, and need durability, strength, and space, get an Astrovan.

Report Abuse

Don't Buy It!

fire44, 12/02/2006
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

Unless you have a large family and you intend to tow more than the typical mini-van will allow, don't buy one. With just 35,000 mi. I'm already having mechanical problems. We've replaced the ignition, "U" joint and the water pump. There is something else that is making noise under the hood that I haven't tracked down yet and the front end will need work in the very near future. It gets poor fuel economy when compared to other mini-vans and really is not a comfortable vehicle to drive.

Report Abuse

It was time to stop making this model

Mr P, 08/26/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This van was a good fit for my needs at the time, It can tow medium size loads, and is OK in comfort. The engine box should be pushed forward some. Cargo space is great, if you remove the third row seat, which is a chore for one person.

Report Abuse

Chevy, make another!

Jason, 04/25/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased our '02 because we owned a '91 & my wife loved being up higher than a typical minivan. It was barely used when we bought it & it had everything we wanted. The biggest improvement over the older one was the rear dutch doors. It's a system that makes complete sense. The adjustability of the bench seats is tremendous, allowing ample leg room for an adult in the back if neccessary. Try having an adult in the back of a Caravan; they may decide to walk! The only thing I needed to change was the factory rims & tires; looked really soft for such a tough truck (and it is a truck!). We love our Astro van and plan on keeping it for years to come

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050