2011 Volkswagen Golf Consumer Review: Corrosion on engine

2011 Volkswagen Golf - Consumer Review

Average Consumer Rating

36 Total Reviews

All Models

Select a different vehicle  
Recently Viewed
There are no recently viewed vehicles to display
Build Quality
Reliability Value
6 of 8 people found this review helpful
Corrosion on engine
By lvanderlinde on


2011 Volkswagen Golf TDI 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6AM)


Purchased new 2011 Golf TDI 4/30/11 and was excited to bring it home. Unfortunately, The engine had moderate corrosion on all aluminum parts. Unclear as to how this occurred. May have been exposed to sea water during shipment from Germany. Big disappoinment.

Best Features

exterior design

Worst Features

Leather interior, more upgrade options.
Recommend (6) (2)
Report it
Comments (7) Post a Comment
By anthony94114
on 04/18/12 20:24 PM (PDT)

Audiguy8, I beg to differ. Everything I've read about this car says it's built in Germany. The non-diesels might be Mexican but not the TDIs.

Report it
By tomsimmonds
on 05/12/11 12:37 PM (PDT)

I worry about this aspect. It makes me think that the car was pre-owned or used by a dealership for test drives during the winter and had the odometer rolled back. Very suspicious.....

Report it
By bpollen
on 05/15/11 16:02 PM (PDT)

Is the dealership or the manufacturer going to either replace the car, or is it fixable (at their cost)?

Report it
By lvanderlinde
on 05/14/11 04:56 AM (PDT)

I was supprised it had 170 miles on it for a new car at a new price of $29,000.

Report it
By audiguy8
on 08/06/11 04:30 AM (PDT)

It is impossible to be shipped from Germany, it was manufactured in Mexico...

Report it
By vwgolf420
on 07/18/12 13:52 PM (PDT)

All 2010-12 Golfs--gasoline or diesel--are built in Wolfsburg, Germany.

Report it
By armand1
on 10/05/15 20:32 PM (PDT)

It's common for the aluminum surfaces be pitted if parts of the car sat underwater when flooding occurs. Car dealers just clean them up and sell it. There are 8,000 vehicles deemed "flooded" per Insurance institute in the state of New Jersey per year.

Report it
Post a Comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.


Nearby Inventory Zip Code UPDATE