Select a different vehicle  
Recently Viewed
There are no recently viewed vehicles to display

Average Consumer Rating 76 Total Reviews
Write a review

Performance
Comfort
Value
Fun-to-Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
16 of 16 people found this review helpful
Mixed Feelings
By kenshin on
Vehicle
2014 Mazda CX-5 Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
Review
Purchased : December 2013 Build quality may be an issue... Week 2 : the passenger seat trim vibrating noise, probably due to contact when exiting vehicle. Fixed by dealer. Week 3 : front windows vibrating noise when opened slightly. Not bothersome enough to take to dealer, but disappointing nonetheless. Week 4 : right sun visor vibration noise, goes away if opened then reclosed. Week 6 : upper right corner of center console screen intermittent rubbing noise. Since the beginning, there's also been a ceiling vibration noise if only the rear windows are open. Apparently, this kind of wind harmonics problem is common for many cars. Again, more disappointment.
Favorite Features
* engine growl is music to the ears * outstanding handling encourages "spirited" driving * roomy, especially rear legroom and cargo capacity * best-looking exterior in its class by miles * great mileage (averaging 34.5 mpg, 75% highway) * 2.5L has more than enough power * blind-spot monitor and backup camera are lifesavers * versatile 40/20/40 folding rear seats * transmission takes getting used to, particularly the engine braking between 19 - 10 mph (makes coasting a drag), but I guess it helps fuel economy somehow * keyless entry remote has surprising range * excellent safety ratings (those built Nov 2013 or later)
Suggested Improvements
- headrest bulges forward, not adjustable - auto-on headlights should be standard - some interior switches not lit - steering column doesn't telescope far enough - rear headrests block rear view - interior metallic parts reflects sun - limited exterior/interior color combinations - armrests uneven height - temperature knob sounds cheap when turned - noisy rear wiper motor - small cubicle (left of steering wheel) not deep/angled enough - no A-pillar grab handle - cargo light not on ceiling - center vents too low / range of adjustment too small - standard audio very unimpressive - tail pipe looks too small - door handle too far forward - no rear fan vents
Recommend (16) (0)
Report it
Comments (5) Post a Comment
By kenshin
on 05/13/14 13:57 PM (PDT)

Update : used Hill Assist for first time. Somebody give the engineer who invented this feature a Nobel or something, just awesome. The gas pump problem has not occurred for the last 2 fill-ups. Hopefully, it stays that way...

Report it
By kenshin
on 04/29/14 16:52 PM (PDT)

Update Week 14 : when getting gas and locking pump handle, the pump clicks off about 2 gallons earlier than usual. I have to hold the pump handle until it actually fills the tank (but not to the point of overflowing, of course). Problem persists no matter which gas station used. * bought a neck pillow and rotated headrest 180 degrees, now seating position is near perfect - black interior puts spotlight on every speck of dust - would be nice if rear seats slide fore and aft - clarification : rear headrest should be those thinner, upside-down L-shaped ones like on the Mazda2 to avoid blocking rear view; "door handle too far forward" refers to interior side

Report it
By almost_gone
on 06/03/14 11:25 AM (PDT)

I'm having the same problem with not being able to fill up my fuel tank all the way. Mine will stop filling when I still should be able to put in about 3.5 more gallons. It's been that way since I purchased it in January 2014 and has not improved. I've used several different gas stations with the same result. It really is a pain in the neck. I'm just about ready to take it in for it's first service, hopefully they can fix the problem.

Report it
By na_hosoi
on 05/20/14 15:33 PM (PDT)

Mazda called; they want your help with the redesign. :)

Report it
By kenshin
on 06/22/14 17:28 PM (PDT)

Just over 10,000 miles and just under 6 months later : car performs just fine mechanically. Mileage = 34.3 (dashboard), 35.0 (Fuelly), 36s pretty common if you stay under 60 mph on freeway (yes, that CX-5 in the slow lane is me). Fuel fill-up issue is inexplicably intermittent. With the weather warming up, the A/C is not as cold as expected even at max setting. I'll be informing the dealer about the rattling front windows when I get the oil change and tire rotation this week...

Report it
Post a Comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.

Register

ADVERTISEMENT
Nearby Inventory Zip Code UPDATE
 
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
Have a question? We're here to help!
Chat*
Chat online with us
Email
Email us at help@edmunds.com
*Available daily 8AM-5PM Pacific
Phone*
Call us at 855-782-4711
SMS*
Text us at ED411