Select a different vehicle  
Recently Viewed
There are no recently viewed vehicles to display

Average Consumer Rating 41 Total Reviews
Write a review

Performance
Comfort
Value
Fun-to-Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
Sub-Frame Rust
By Jeff Monroe on
Vehicle
1999 Hyundai Sonata GLS 4dr Sedan
Review
I was surprised to see the review by leon written 1/15/2008. I have just experienced the exact same failure on my Hyundais' front passenger side wheel collapsing. My local dealership also refused to repair my sub-frame rusting under warranty. This seems to be a wide-spread problem. And I too believe this should be repaired under their 10 yr bumper-bumper warranty. The Sonata is a fun, sleek and enjoyable car, but Hyundai often waffles on their warranty coverage; which was one of the major selling points that impacted my purchasing decision. .
Favorite Features
Comfortable & spacious interior, easy to drive, excellent handling.
Suggested Improvements
Excellent car I wish they would honor their warranty claims. Hyundai of America needs stronger and more stringent oversight. Most Hyundai dealerships are seemingly undaunted by the threat of being reported to HOA.
Recommend (0) (0)
Report it
Comments (6) Post a Comment
By jay_laz
on 06/15/12 10:12 AM (PDT)

Consequences: IF THAT HAPPENS, THE VEHICLE MAY LOSE DRIVE POWER TO THE WHEELS, AND THE FRONT WHEEL MAY MAKE CONTACT WITH THE FENDER OR WHEEL WELL, THEREBY INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH.

Report it
By jay_laz
on 06/15/12 10:11 AM (PDT)

Recall ID # 78423 - SUSPENSION, Recall Date APR 16, 2009 Component: SUSPENSION, Model Affected: 1999 Sonata, Potential Units Affected: 188282

Report it
By jay_laz
on 06/15/12 10:11 AM (PDT)

Hyundai issued a recall for this rusting problem, as follows:

Report it
By jay_laz
on 06/15/12 10:12 AM (PDT)

Summary: HYUNDAI IS RECALLING 188,282 MY 2001-2004 SONATA AND MY 2001-2004 XG300 AND XG350 VEHICLES ORIGINALLY SOLD IN OR CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN THE STATES OF CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, MAINE, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSOURI, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW YORK, OHIO, PENNSYLVANIA, RHODE ISLAND, VERMONT, WEST VIRGINIA, WISCONSIN, AND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA. ROAD SALT APPLIED IN THESE JURISDICTIONS DURING THE WINTER MONTHS MAY RESULT IN PROGRESSIVE, INTERNAL CORROSION OF THE FRONT SUB-FRAME ON THE VEHICLES, AND MAY RESULT IN THINNING OR PERFORATION OF THE SUB-FRAME STEEL. THE CORROSION IS FREQUENTLY VISIBLE AND OFTEN DISCOVERED DURING INSPECTION OR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, AND OWNERS MAY ALSO HEAR NOISES OR NOTICE TIRE MISALIGNMENT AND STEERING PULL. IF THESE SIGNALS ARE UNDETECTED OR UNHEEDED, THE CORROSION MAY PROGRESS AND THE FORWARD MOUNTING OF THE LOWER CONTROL ARM MAY DETACH FROM THE SUB-FRAME.

Report it
By jay_laz
on 06/15/12 10:12 AM (PDT)

Remedy: DEALERS WILL MEASURE THE THICKNESS OF THE FRONT SUB-FRAME AND INSPECT THE FRONT SUB-FRAME FOR CORROSION DAMAGE AND, IF NECESSARY, THE FRONT SUB-FRAME WILL BE REPLACED WITH A NEW SUB-FRAME THAT INCORPORATES ADDITIONAL HOLES IN THE UPPER AND LOWER PANELS. IF THE FRONT SUB-FRAME DOES NOT REQUIRE REPLACEMENT, THE DEALER WILL ADD DRAINAGE HOLES TO THE SUB-FRAME AND WILL TREAT THE SUB-FRAME WITH RUST-PROOFING MATERIAL TO STOP THE CORROSION PROCESS. THIS PROCEDURE WILL BE PERFORMED FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL IS EXPECTED TO BEGIN DURING APRIL 2009. OWNERS MAY CONTACT THE HYUNDAI CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER AT 1-800-633-5151.

Report it
By jay_laz
on 06/15/12 10:13 AM (PDT)

Potential Units Affected: 188282

Report it
Post a Comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.

Register

ADVERTISEMENT
Nearby Inventory Zip Code UPDATE
 
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT