2011 Chevrolet Equinox LS SUV Consumer Reviews | Edmunds
ADVERTISEMENT

2011 Chevrolet Equinox - Consumer Reviews

Average Consumer Rating

132 Total Reviews

2011 Equinox Consumer Reviews

View reviews for a specific Equinox model:
ADVERTISEMENT

Write Consumer Reviews

Write Consumer Reviews

Write a review and rate your own car.

ADVERTISEMENT

Sort Reviews by

Most Recent|
Most Recent Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating
Never again
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By Tonya Singletary
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LT1 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

Where do I begin...... 2011 Equinox brought brand new. I'm a commuter so I must keep up maintenance, get oil changes regularly (not from the dealer). Transmission goes out at 60,000 which took a month to repair. now 70,000 major oil leak which of course cause engine issues. Have bumper to bumper warranty BUT GMC doesn't want to pay, claims issue occurred to not changing oil. Had to produce receipts of proof that I've had oil changes. Once all is said and done trading it in and never going back to Chevrolet.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Very Questionable Investment
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By erthfriend
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LT2 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

I was surprised seeing that this car rated 4 out of 5 stars. The gas mileage was supposed to be 32, but we never got better than 23 mpg. Even allowing for the AWD, we expected upper 20s. There was always a rattling coming from the engine that sounded like pins and needles shaking in a tin can. At 60K, I took it in for an oil change and the dealer could find no oil on the stick at all. No oil pressure guage. No warning light. At 80K, the oil use was only worsening. The dealer said it warranted a ring job. Since the warranty was expiring at 100K, we traded it in on a Prius V, taking a $6K hit. The GM people are some of the best. Too bad this is a crappy car.


Favorite Features

The cabin and the ride are the best parts of the Equinox experience. You can see videos on You Tube showing the interior. It's almost like a space ship. Ours had a sunroof that we almost never used, and bluetooth that we used all the time. The interior is very similar to the Chevy Cruze, on a much larger scale.


Suggested Improvements

I think it all comes down to two words: Quality Control. Whether the fault lies in the engineering(I am guessing it does since our complaints seem fairly well represented in these comments), or the manufacture, someone needs to control quality at GM. A pretty car with a comfortable ride should be a bonus, not a saving grace.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Worst Car I've Ever Owned. No GM Support
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By bradjohnson08
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LS 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

February 2011 – 7,099 miles - Complaint of jerkiness while shifting. Weird shifting. Action taken – Seat belt recall, nothing done concerning our complaint except charge us for an oil change. November 2011 – 17,683 miles - Further shifting issues and chugs while driving. Loud ratting and grinding from under hood by engine. Knocking in back. Slow to take off from a stop. Has stalled 2 times driving. Action taken – Reprogrammed engine control module. Said they couldn’t duplicate the rest. April 2012 – 22,365 miles - Stalled more times. Knocking in engine and rattling. Still shifts incorrectly. Sputters and stalls while driving. Transmission leak.


Favorite Features

Installed new insulator on fuel pump. November 2012 – 31,530 miles - Vehicle shakes hard while driving and shifting. Service Engine light has started to come on. Has stalled more and still shifts hard. Transmission leak. Action taken – Replaced High Pressure Fuel Pump. June 2013 – 39,705 miles Grinding when starting up. Bounces and loud while reversing. Lacks power accelerating and hard shifting. Idles rough when starting and at stop lights or idling. Transmission leak. Action taken – Cam Shaft timing replacement. Reprogrammed ECM. Charged us for another unnecessary oil change. May 2014 – 53,160 miles – Jumps and lurches while shifting between gears still. Still rattling


Suggested Improvements

and loud noises while driving and starting car. Stalls intermittently and RPM’s go very low without reason. Knocking still happening under the hood. Action taken – Replaced Front Wheel Drive Shaft Seal. Replaced water pump. Repaired Balance Shaft Chain. On the phone was told they were replacing the cam shaft actuators again but I don’t see it on my detailed repair sheet?


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Poor investment
8 of 11 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By teddy21
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LTZ 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

As far as the ride quillity, it was a great hwy car , fit and trim great, room was also good. But when a car company developes A car company you think they would test this engine for problems, leaks, burning oil, ruff idle and so on.


Favorite Features

Navigation,road handling, looks, quite ,room


Suggested Improvements

Its simple make sure if put a new car on the road it is rellable , gets close to the advertise mpg and when you do this you will have return customer,that will tell other people about the great cheve. Sorry poor speller.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Vehicle Vibrates at highway speeds over 50 MPH
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By navyofficer211
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LTZ 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

Overall, I was pleased with the 2011 Equinox LTZ in the winter conditions. I put more highway miles on it than in actual weather conditions. My odometer read 28,000 when I had the first incident of a vibration over 50 mph and the check engine light came on briefly and stayed on for an hour or so. I thought it was the tires, so I had them checked, I had new summer all season tires on, and the tires were fine, and so I had the vehicle checked for mechanical problems, no codes were discovered and the check engine light went off. A week ago my odometer reads 87000 and the same situation occurs with this vibration, the difference is that it occurs at all speeds now, not just highway speeds.


Favorite Features

AWD, Navigation and the Sirius XM, gas mileage and comfort.


Suggested Improvements

I think the wheels might be too big or heavy for this AWD system, cause it drags before it kicks in. The SUV had 19 inch chrome factory rims. It might cause the AWD system to overwork or overheat to cause this vibration?


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

BAD BAD Choice in a vehicle..
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By redding63
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LT1 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

Where do I start... first of all I owned the vehicle for 5 days to have it taken in to the dealership for costly repairs! Yes my warranty covered it but still, I had to have the water pump,fuel pump and timing chain all replaced! Then a month later the check engine light comes on so I called On Star to have them diagnose the issue,come to find out its misfiring.AND we smell gas in the oil AND our remote start wont work because of the check engine light that's on.The dealership has us waiting a week to bring it in. Not only is that bad business ,but to find out they may or may not give us a rental car to drive. Do I feel safe in this vehicle? NO absolutely NOT!


Favorite Features

Its a nice and beautiful vehicle on the outside but under the hood I don't trust it!


Suggested Improvements

GM needs to back their consumers who make them millions of dollars buying their vehicles. Their manufacturing junk and we are being ripped off by GM. I have called GM numerous times on complaints and its a no win situation with them! Im ready to go foreign now and im a diehard stand behind GM products person, but im quickly swaying from ever doing business with GM ever again!


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Good car to own.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By topg3ar
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LT2 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

i purchased a LT2 2011 Chevy Equinox AWD 4cylander which is 1 step under the v6 a few months ago pre-owned , ive had it for a few months now and have no issue with it , mechanically the vehicle runs perfect , basically fully loaded just not a v6 power , over all its a really great car for new family.


Favorite Features

review camera , heats seats, sunroof, power everything, fog lights , also has the tow package , well designed interior , premium audio sound w/ sub woofer, back seats tilt and move forward or back, heated exterior mirrors, and much more .


Suggested Improvements

air vents cant get good airflow the way they are placed , 4 cylinder w/ AWD is nice But .. it is very sluggish and slow at start off .


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Where do I go from here?
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By meshellyvette
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LT1 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

I am reading the many reviews about the 2011 Chevy Equinox and surprised on how many people are experiencing what I am. I do not feel safe in this vehicle and cannot get the problems fixed. I have brought it in four times for the same problems and each time the story is the same-they can't replicate the problems. It idles rough, runs rough has poor acceleration and hiccups when driving. The gas mileage is not good and every time I go to get the oil changed it is on the low side. I haven't experienced an actual full-on stalling but it sure feels like it is going to and some people have experienced that. I have felt nervous pulling out into traffic as of late worried it will stall. I am stuck


Favorite Features

Roomy and attractive but not safe!


Suggested Improvements

This car needs to be recalled it is unsafe and GM is aware of it! Does someone have to die before they realize it?


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Good value for the money
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By azdriver1946
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LT1 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

I bought the 2011 Equinox in Nov 2010. It now has over 35k miles on the odo. Only problems noted so far: needed to replace left rear turn sig light bulb, right rear speaker rattled. Gas milage (in Ariz at mostly 70 plus on highway): in town 22, on highway 29. Granted it's not the 32mpg noted by EPA, but it's fine for over 70mph. No rattles, drives mostly OK, but acceleration from start a bit lame at times. Glad I bought the car. No issues with blind spots.


Favorite Features

Lots of room in back seat (adjustable front/rear), front seats comfortable, split folding back seat.


Suggested Improvements

Move A/C vents further from steering wheel. Have totally flat rear seat when folded down (now a bit of an incline) for those long items.


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

2011 Equinox 6 cylnder
Performance
Comfort
Fuel Economy
Fun To Drive
Interior Design
Exterior Design
Build Quality
Reliability
By vlies
on

Vehicle

2011 Chevrolet Equinox SUV LTZ 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)


Review

I was very unhappy to bring my car in, it showed on the car computer that it back fired on all cylinders by they were not able to determine why. Why have the computer code if it doesn't tell you the reason. This is the second time this Equinox has been in for problems with similar issues in the last year, it only has 24,000 miles on it. If this coninues, it will likely be the last GM vehicle that I buy again, and it has 20 years since I purchased an american company car. It makes me sad to give up on the American Auto industry. They should have simply tried some things such as new spark plugs, fuel flush, retiminig the car, whatever. I felt that would have been at least some action. The prop


Was this review helpful? Yes | No

ADVERTISEMENT

New Car Buying Guides

See which cars and trucks our editors recommend

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
Have a question? We're here to help!
Chat*
Chat online with us
Email
Email us at help@edmunds.com
*Available daily 8AM-5PM Pacific
Phone*
Call us at 855-782-4711
SMS*
Text us at ED411